Past Scholarship awardees

Ph.D Fellowship

Niheskumar Sumanbhai Rathod

Advisor: Rajesh Sundaresan (ECE/RBCCPS) and Bharadwaj Amrutur (ECE/RBCCPS)

Nihesh received the B.E. degree in Electronics and Communications from Dharmsinh Desai University, Nadiad in 2012 and the M.E. degree in Telecommunication from the Indian Institute of Science in 2015. Since 2015, he is a Cisco Research Scholar in Department of Electrical Communication Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, where he is currently pursuing his Ph.D. degree in Communication and Networks. His interest include the areas in design and implementation of Internet of Things (IoT). He is currently working on the Steiner tree problem or a heterogeneous propagation environment and on the  orchestration, maintenance and automation of large-scale networks using natural language processing.

Vinay Kumar Bindiganavile Ramadas

Advisor: Navin Kashyap (ECE)

Vinay Kumar B.R. is a Ph.D. student in the ECE Department at the Indian Institute of Science. He is a recipient of the CISCO-IISc PhD research fellowship from 2015-2020. He obtained his B.E.(Hons.) in Electrical Engineering and M.Sc.(Hons.) in Mathematics from BITS-Pilani in 2014. His research interests include distributed computation and communication on networks, percolation and random graphs. His current research includes energy efficient broadcast mechanisms on ad hoc networks. Previously, he has worked on indoor localization algorithms and smart grids during his tenure as a Project Associate in the Department of Electronic Systems Engineering, IISc.

Akshatha Jagadish

Advisor: ​Manoj Varma (CeNSE)

Akshatha received her B.Tech. degree in Electronics and Communication from PES Institute of Technology, Bangalore in 2015. She worked as Associate Software Engineer for Automotive Functional Safety at Robert Bosch Engineering and Business Solutions, India during 2015-17. She is currently a PhD student in RBCCPS  where her current research area is autonomous swarm robots. Her research focusses on modelling and control of the swarm of micro-robots in Low Reynold’s number environment.

Rooji Jinan

Advisor: ​Parimal Parag (ECE)

Rooji received her B.Tech. degree in Electronics and Communication  and her M.Tech. in Communication Engineering and Signal Processing from Calicut University, Kerala. She worked as Assistant Professor at Christ College of Engineering (affiliated to Kalam Technological University), Kerala during 2016-17. Currently, she pursues PhD at Robert Bosch Centre for Cyber Physical Systems, IISc, under the guidance of Dr. Parimal Parag, Department of Electrical Communication Engineering, IISc. Her current research area is timely updates for cyber-physical systems.

M.Tech Fellowship

Gururaj. K

Advisor: Ambedkar Dukkipati (CSA)

Gururaj is an MTech Student in EE Department. He did his BTech from NITK Surathkal. He has previously worked at INTEL India for a year. He is interested in Machine Learning and Statistical modelling. His current research focuses on Statistical Network Analysis , Generative Modelling for large-scale Networks ,Dynamic Networks and Heterogenous Networks.

Mahak Pancholi

Advisor: Arpita Patra (CSA)

Mahak is a second year M. Tech student at IISc, Bangalore, working under the guidance of Dr. Arpita Patra , in Cryptography and Information Security Lab. Before joining IISc, she obtained her Bachelors in Computer Science from Mumbai University. My research primarily focuses on building and designing algorithms, using tools from Multiparty Computation for Privacy Preserving Machine Learning in a 3 server setting with minority corruption.

Nirabhra Mandal

Advisor: Pavankumar Tallapragada (EE)

Nirabhra Mandal is an MTech(Res) student in the Department of Electrical Engineering at Indian Institute of Science. He received his BTech in Electrical Engineering from Institute of Engineering and Mangement, Kolkata in 2017. He is broadly interested in Non-Linear Control and Multi-Agent Systems. He is currently working on modeling the evolution and control of a population of selfish agents on a network.

Prasanna Patil

Advisor:  M. Narsimha Murty (CSA)

Prasanna received his B.E. degree in Computer Engineering from L. D. College of Engineering, Ahmedabad in 2014. He is currently working under Prof. M Narasimha Murty. He is broadly interested in hypergraphs which are higher-order graphs. His current research focuses on addressing issues involved in hyperedge prediction over hypergraphs. The aim is to develop a machine learning algorithm for hyperedge prediction which is general enough so that it can be applied to hypergraphs emerging in different domains such as biological networks, social networks and communication networks.

Saraswathy Ramanathan

Advisor: Parimal Parag (ECE)

Saraswathy RM is an M.Tech(Res) student at the ECE department working under the guidance of Prof. Parimal Parag. She received her B.E from PES Institute of Technology in the year 2016. She is broadly interested in Queuing theory and networks. Her current research work focuses on design and implementation of distributed storage systems.